Comm Arts Dept Banner

Communication Arts Department

The Communication Arts Department offers a wide variety of courses that focus on developing students’ reading, writing, speaking, listening, and viewing skills. In addition, students learn how to acquire, assess, and utilize information from a variety of sources. The goal is to create critical thinkers who use their literacy skills to make meaning of the varied texts that they encounter. Department curriculum “recognizes the recursiveness of literacy skills […] and fosters increased independence of the learner” (District 203 Literacy Philosophy).

Students must earn four Communication Arts credits in order to meet graduation requirements. To obtain these credits, students complete a series of core classes that provide a solid foundation in reading and analyzing fiction and nonfiction texts, writing and speaking in various modes (narrative, expository, and persuasive), and assessing information for merit. Students have many weighted and non-weighted course offerings to choose from; furthermore, intensive reading courses and seminars exist to help students reach success. Within the curriculum, students also have the opportunity to take courses that foster an interest in the performing arts, film, and journalism. In addition, two Advanced Placement (AP) courses (AP Language and Composition and AP Literature and Composition) provide students with an opportunity to take exams that may lead them to earn college credit.

The Communication Arts Department utilizes a college preparatory curriculum that serves students well as they move forward in their academic careers and lives. From American literature to world literature, students will experience many of the great authors and literary works that have influenced human thought and society.

Contact Information


Mike Doman
Instructional Coordinator
 
630-420-6460
 
Heidi Sieben
Administrative Assistant
 
630-420-6460

Comm Arts Department Photo

Comm Arts Department Photo
 
First Row (l-r):   Sarah Kandl, Nicole Weiss, Kelyn Tuggle, Maxyne Granatelli, Nicole Figi, Annette Hennessey, Rachel Brodeur
Second Row:  Taryen Polykandroitis, John Hayward, Claudia Winterrowd, Michelle Konrad, Mary Wilkerson, Sarah Albiniak, Jennifer Blaskovitz, Megan Plackett, Jeremy Lin, Mike Doman
Third Row: Keith Carlson, Jeff Plackett, Marissa Freese, Laura Starke, Barry Baldwin
Back Row:  Rick Bain, Dan Tompkins, Kim Eriksen, Tom Ulbrich, Tom McGrath, Adam Freed

Comm Arts Staff Directory

Teacher's First Name Last Name Phone 1 (630)- Email
Sarah Albiniak 369-2178 salbiniak@naperville203.org
Richard Bain 369-5967 rbain@naperville203.org
Barry Baldwin 579-7657 bbaldwin@naperville203.org
Jennifer Blaskovitz 778-3108 jblaskovitz@naperville203.org
Rachel Brodeur 369-5924 rbrodeur@naperville203.org
Keith Carlson 369-6894 kcarlson@naperville203.org
Carrie Davis 369-4429 cldavis@naperville203.org
Kim Eriksen 369-5971 keriksen@naperville203.org
Nicole Figi 369-6108 nfigi@naperville203.org
Adam Freed 369-4431 afreed@naperville203.org
Marissa Freese 420-6302 mfreese@naperville203.org
Maxyne Granatelli 369-4463 mgranatelli@naperville203.org
Annette Hennessy 369-5987 ahennessy@naperville203.org
Sarah Kandl 369-2180 skandl@naperville203.org
Michelle Konrad 369-4463 mkonrad@naperville203.org
Jeremy Lin jslin@naperville203.org
Tom McGrath 369-6115 tmcgrath@naperville203.org
Jeff Plackett 369-6164 jplackett@naperville203.org
Megan Plackett 369-6160 mplackett@naperville203.org
Taryen Polykandroitis 369-5965 tpolykandroitis@naperville203.org
Marybeth Reilly 369-5994 mreilly@naperville203.org
Laura Starke 369-5978 lstarke@naperville203.org
Daniel Tompkins 369-6197 dtompkins@naperville203.org
Kelyn Tuggle 369-5934 ktuggle@naperville203.org
Tom Ulbrich 420-3885 tulbrich@naperville203.org
Nicole Weiss 369-5961 nweiss@naperville203.org
Mary Wilkerson 579-7153 mwilkerson@naperville203.org
Claudia Winterrowd 778-3151 cwinterrowd@naperville203.org
CLOSE