World and Classical Languages

World and Classical Languages Department Philosophy

We believe that language and communication are at the heart of the human experience.  They allow us to relate meaningfully with one another.  The goals of our instruction of world and classical languages department are to enable students to communicate effectively in the second language, to understand the cultures that support the language, to see connections between language study and other disciplines, and to appreciate what it means to be college-, career-, and world ready.

The world and classical languages classroom will provide an environment conducive to a successful language experience.  A rich variety of standards- based strategies and resources will be utilized so that all students can experience both acquisition and learning. Instruction will include realistic and meaningful learning opportunities which provide challenging, engaging, and authentic activities that promote increased proficiency in listening, speaking, reading and writing in the target language.

As a result of our curriculum, instruction, and learning environment, District 203 students in world and classical languages will experience the utility and beauty of the language they study.  They will recognize the benefits of reflection and continued learning. At each level, students will have the opportunity to develop increased proficiency in the target language and a deeper insight into their own language, while growing in their respect for the cultures and beliefs of others.

WCL Department Photo

 
WCL Department  
 
Front Row (L-R):  Tiffany Swanson, Elise Katter, Kathy Gasser, Eric Kaisling, Ignacio Gamboa, Mike Ortiz, Jeremy Whitt
Row 2:  Deniece Zinnecker, Yinhui Liao, Jenny Franta, Ellen Spitalli, Stacy Cunningham, Mary Warren, Barb Watson, Dave Davis, Jack Howenstine
Not pictured:  Ed Joyce 

World & Classical Languages Staff Directory

First Name Last Name Position Phone 1(630)- Email
Piling Chiu Chinese Instructor 420-2314 pchiu@naperville203.org
Stacy Cunningham Latin Instructor 778-3126 scunningham@naperville203.org
David Davis Spanish Instructor 778-3111 ddavis@naperville203.org
Jennie Franta Spanish Instructor 778-3115 jfranta@naperville203.org
Ignacio Gamboa Instructional Coordinator 420-6813 igamboa@naperville203.org
Kathleen Gasser Spanish Instructor 778-3119 kgasser@naperville203.org
Jack Howenstine German Instructor 717-4415 jhowenstine@naperville203.org
Ed Joyce Latin Instructor ejoyce@naperville203.org
Jonathan Justice German Instructor 420-3106 jjustice@naperville203.org
Eric Kaisling Spanish Instructor 778-3127 ekaisling@naperville203.org
Elise Katter Spanish Instructor 778-3139 ekatter@naperville203.org
Yinhui Liao Chinese Instructor 369-4420 yliao@naperville203.org
Michael Ortiz Spanish Instructor 369-5255 mortiz@naperville203.org
Ellen Spitalli Spanish Instructor 778-3143 espitalli@naperville203.org
Tiffany Swanson Secretary 420-6452 tswanson@naperville203.org
Mary Warren Spanish Instructor 848-5387 mwarren@naperville203.org
Barb Watson Spanish Instructor 369-2160 bwatson@naperville203.org
Jeremy Whitt French Instructor 778-3150 jwhitt@naperville203.org
Deniece Zinnecker French Instructor 778-3152 dzinnecker@naperville203.org
WCL wordle
Ignacio Gamboa, Instructional Coordinator
(630)420-6813
 
Tiffany Swanson, Secretary
(630)420-6452
tswanson@naperville203.org

IL Seal of Biliteracy

 State Seal of Biliteracy

Illinois State Seal of Biliteracy and Commendation toward Biliteracy

The State Seal of Biliteracy is a recognition given to graduating high school students who have demonstrated a high level of proficiency in English and in reading, writing, listening and speaking in another language.  The Seal is affixed to the diploma and designated on the transcript.

Click here for more information.
 
Click here for the information session notes.
 
Seniors can apply here.  Please be sure to be logged in to your Naperville203 Google account to access this form.
CLOSE